top of page
Search
  • hollyrabjohns

Introductory post

Hello there! My name is Holly Rabjohns and I have just recently graduated from Nottingham Trent University with a BA in Textile Design. Let me tell you a little bit about the work I am currently showcasing on this website!



'Photograph of myself working on my textile degree pieces' (2020)


The textile sculptures & digital silk scarf designs that I have created for my final degree collection communicate a contemporary adaptation of the ancient 'Despacho' ceremony. This ceremony derives from the spiritual practice of Shamanism*, and it is one I have had the pleasure of being involved with throughout my upbringing.


The 'Despacho' means “sending a message or care package” in Spanish. The ceremony provides us with the opportunity to not only momentarily return to the fundamental unity with all that exists but show appraisal to Mother Nature and the Universe.



'Incrementum' (2020)

Twine, home - grown bio fabric, merino wool, cotton thread, snail shell beads, tree bark & sea shells 🌎

I wish for my abstract and intuitive work to guide you into a utopian future where design is solely led by nature’s wonders, as well as to create a transcendental atmosphere which provokes curiosity and imagination.

*Shamanism - An ancient indigenous religion. Traditionally where the Shaman is able to reach altered states of consciousness, so that they may communicate with the spirit world. Shamanism is founded on the belief that there is an unseen world of demons, angels, and ancestral spirits. Additionally, this spiritual practice promotes a profound respect towards Mother Nature - regarding the earth and human beings as one.




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page